Is there a statute of limitations on filing a personal injury or wrongful death lawsuit?
Yes. The deadlines for filing a personal injury or wrongful death claim vary according to the state. Because these are often complex cases, it is best to begin work on yours as soon as possible.
In Kentucky and Indiana, most personal injury and wrongful death claims must be filed within 24 months of when the injury occurs. In Tennessee, a plaintiff has 12 months to file a claim. The statute of limitations may also vary according to the cause of action and whether minors are involved.
But it is best to get started on a claim quickly. Developing a car accident case, for example,requires examining damaged vehicles and/or reconstructing the accident with the help of consultants, and analyzing medical records with the help of medical experts to determine the full costs of our clients’ injuries and losses. This is in addition to interviewing witnesses, tracking down evidence to support the claim of the defendant’s negligence, and drafting and filing the actual complaint.
Some cases can be developed faster than others, but there’s no way to tell how an unforeseen obstacle may delay filing a claim.
If you think it is at all possible that your injury or the death of a loved one in Kentucky, Indiana, Ohio, or Tennessee was because of someone else’s negligence or recklessness, you should contact the Becker Law Office for legal assistance today.